Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mazda cx-5 sport 2019 burning oil

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2022, 11:58 PM
Default Mazda cx-5 sport 2019 burning oil

Hi everyone,

I am new to Mazdas, I purchased a used Mazda cx-5 about 4 months ago and I put about 4000 miles during that time, 2 weeks ago the oil light came on so I stopped my car and checked the level and it was low, I added a little less than a quart of oil to the engine, my question is if this is normal for cx-5 to burn a quart of oil between oil changes, I am aiming to change the oil every 5000 miles, should I call Mazda and report the issue? My car has 34000 miles at the moment, any guidance is appreciated.

Last edited by Monky322; 11-19-2022 at 10:43 AM.
Old 11-19-2022, 04:56 AM

Hopefully you made a typo (4 miles in 4 months).
If not, then your vehicle was down almost a quart of oil when you purchased it, either that or you have a leak.
Please note is not uncommon for the 2.5L (NA) engine in these vehicles (and some other import brands) to have "different" oil levels.
For instance, doing an oil change, my 2020 requires a 1/3 to 1/2 a quart of additional oil above what the manual says, for the dipstick to read correctly.

Old 11-19-2022, 09:56 AM

Originally Posted by Lobstah
Hopefully you made a typo (4 miles in 4 months).
If not, then your vehicle was down almost a quart of oil when you purchased it, either that or you have a leak.
Please note is not uncommon for the 2.5L (NA) engine in these vehicles (and some other import brands) to have "different" oil levels.
For instance, doing an oil change, my 2020 requires a 1/3 to 1/2 a quart of additional oil above what the manual says, for the dipstick to read correctly.
Yes, I meant to say 4000 miles not 4 miles, I think I will report it anyway to Mazda and see what they say

Old 11-19-2022, 10:49 AM