Mazda 323,Mazda 626 & Mazda 929 Whether the compact 323, the mid sized 626, or the full sized 929, these vehicles remain very popular even though production has stopped.

Not Sure what the problem is...

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2012, 08:22 PM
Default Not Sure what the problem is...

Hi All...
So I'm new to Mazda's and ran into a problem that I've never seen before... Here's the issue; Whenever I put on the defroster, or the AC, my engine revs, not a lot mind you, but only when I put the fan on. It's so bad that I literally have to stand on the breaks or else I'll run into the car in front of me. It only happens when I have the defroster, or AC on, meaning I could have the fan on the face/feet setting and it's fine, but as soon as I put defroster, of feet/defroster, or AC I'm literally in a car that can and has driven itself without the need to put my foot on the gas at all.

Has anyone ever had this issue or come across it before? Any lead in the right direction would be insanely greatful.

Thanks!

Old 04-23-2012, 11:28 PM

First off welcome to the forums!! Second please put your vehicles info in your signature, makes it easier for all of us since we dont have to ask what your driving. Ok so first question is what are you driving? My first thoughts are the idle air control valve is plugged up or sticking, when you turn your AC on the computer sends a signal to the IAC valve to let more air in to raise your RPMs so the engine does not stall with the added load. If its not working right it will mess up your idle and possibly give the symptom your describing.

Last edited by MazdaTirol; 04-24-2012 at 02:33 AM. Reason: Added to post.
Old 04-24-2012, 10:52 AM

Hi, sorry still learning the website and you're right, I probably should have at the very least mentioned what I drive lol. I own a 1998 Mazda 626 Es V6. I don't know if that changes anything about your response but I appreciate the info ill have to check that out.

Old 04-25-2012, 12:40 AM