Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Should I buy a Mazda??

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2015, 08:29 AM
Question Should I buy a Mazda??

Hey Folks,
Looking for some real owner opinions on whether or not a Mazda 3 should be my next ride. I've posted this question in one other forum so far (Toronto based Mazda forum), but thought I'd throw the net a little wider.

I am a high mileage driver. Between my wife and I, we drive about 75,000km per year - 95% highway. So - good mileage and longevity are important to me. I intend to buy it new (or newish) and drive it until it won't drive any more - somewhere in the 500,000km range. Will a Mazda 3 do that?

I have owned 2 diesel VW Jettas (still own the one). The first one self retired at 480,000km. My current 2010 Jetta is just topping 400,000km and still going strong. My commute generally averages out below 5.5L/100km, often settling at 5.3. Winter gets a bit worse, but is consistently below 6.1L/100km. These numbers are with the cruise set at 122kph, so not exactly babying it...

So my first and most important question is - will a Mazda 3 go a half million kilometers without massive maintenance? I'm aware of Mazda's new unlimited warranty (5yr), which is what has me considering the vehicle in the first place.

My second question is with respect to fuel economy. Can I expect to get anywhere close to the manufacturer claims of 5.7L/100km on the highway? I know it won't beat my Jetta, but anything under 6.0 is reasonable.

Thoughts and opinions?

Sean.

Old 10-21-2015, 12:19 PM
Super Moderator

My opinions on living long-term with Mazda:
I've owned mine since new in 2004. It currently has 95,000 miles on the odometer. I have changed the oil religiously at 10k miles since converting to synthetic at around 20k miles.