Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Need ideas and help with wiring stuff in...

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 08:42 PM
Default Need ideas and help with wiring stuff in...

I need some advice...

I run a radar detector in my 3 and also wish to run a set or two of accent lights (LEDs most likely) around the dash/passenger area. I have very little experience in wiring in cars. My question is this... Without having to use a bulky 3-to-1 adaptor from my main 12v, then from the adaptor to the radar and lights (lots of wires and extra ****...no good!), what's the best way to wire/plug this stuff in with minimal wires showing (or at least dangling around), but keep the LEDs hot with a key turn, or better yet, syncing the LEDswith things like turning on headlights? I guess I could wire in a switch, but I have no good ideas where to install it or how to evenrun wires through the inside of the 3up to the battery. Like I said, I'm a newb in this area and haven't poked around the car enough to get good ideas. The radar can always be hot because it has it's own switch on the unit, but the lights....argh!

Basically I want to know the best way to run multiple-powered things, lights + radar, in the most efficient and hidden way with possible switches or tying it in with other power on/off options already in the car. Any suggestions or links??? Sorry I've had a few beerrs so my grammar might be a little sloppy.

Old 02-10-2008, 09:45 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Need ideas and help with wiring stuff in...