Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Looking to improve my engine's performance

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2011, 10:38 AM
Default Looking to improve my engine's performance

Hey there,

I was looking for an easy and cheap way to improve my car engine's performance a bit by increasing its horsepower or whatever. Cars in Egypt almost always have low engines because of the expensive customs, and mine is pretty low (1598cc). Anyway, a couple of people suggested a high performance intake (like from K & N) and a good highflow exhaust (flowmaster, etc.). That is a cheap and easy way, and a nice addition that MIGHT be a bit costy is a plug in chip that can change the engine's dynamics.

I'm a novice when it comes to mechanics, and that is why I need help with that. Don't worry, I'm not looking to start speeding again or whatever, I actually always have my seatbelt on and drive 80 - 110 km/h, but it'd be nice to improve the engine's performance since it is possible.

I stumbled upon some but I don't really know which is which or which fits or whatever. I need help!

33-2924 - K&N Replacement Filters, Replacement Air Filter
E-2993 - K&N Replacement Filters, Replacement Air Filter
2010 Mazda 3 Exhaust Systems | Performance Exhaust &...
Exhaust Systems - Cat Back Exhaust, Mufflers, Tips @ AutoAnything - 5,962 Reviews

It's a 2010 Mazda 3 with engine model 1.6 dohc (1,598 cc (97.5 cu in) I4), (105 PS (77 kW; 104 hp)@6000, 145 N·m (107 lb·ft)@4000), and (CO2 emissions (g/km) 149).

Thank you.

I'm sorry if this is the wrong section.

Old 06-12-2011, 12:53 PM

im not sure which is correct for your vehicle, to find better help id try to find a mazda forum that has more members in your region. the 1.6l is not in the u.s so not many people would know about it, i can say this, the mufflers tips wont help anything.

Old 06-12-2011, 01:54 PM