Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

How to improve my MPG?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2006, 05:48 PM
Default How to improve my MPG?

Hi, everyone,

I am a new driver and I just bought myself a 04 Mazda 3i with 18K miles. It my first time to drive a stick. I only get mpg around 22 - 24 mpg ( mostly in city). Is it normal? How can I improve it? In ad, it says 28/35 for this car.

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-25-2006, 06:00 PM
Default RE: How to improve my MPG?

drive with a lighter foot of course.

it also depends on where you live, if you live in an area with a lot of hills your gas milage is not going to be as good. its all about how hard you push the pedal, when you shift, and the area you are driving in. also stop and go traffic is much worse then just straight city cruisin

Old 07-25-2006, 06:50 PM

if you are thinking performance modification wise, this topic has been covered numerous times on this forum. adding a cold air intake as well as an exhaust will put up your gas mileage slightly higher... but that comes with a price! and i do agree that being "less heavy" on your gas pedal will obviously get your mpg a higher rating.

Old 07-25-2006, 07:09 PM

I get 28-34 all the time (28 was the lowest I have recorded) with my 3i 5-speed.

I definitely don't have a light foot, but a fair bit of my driving is highway (typically 80 mph)

Old 07-25-2006, 07:32 PM

to improve gas milage you could also shift around 2500-3000 rpms, drive with an egg on your foot, try and stay in the higher gears (4 and definitely 5), and use your cruise control as much as you possibly can.

Old 07-25-2006, 08:33 PM