Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Brand new to this forum and car

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2013, 07:26 AM
Default Brand new to this forum and car

Hey guys,

I am brand new to this forum and to the Mazda 3 Hatch. Got in a accident with a deer last fall and lost out on my Jetta TDI. Looked high and low and finally came across the 2005 Mazda 3 hatch ( think its a sport). It was the car i wanted as its got room for hockey gear and is also sporty. It is not as good on fuel as i am used to and i am not even sure if its good for the car or not right now for about 60 bucks of fuel i get about 450-500 KM. I do have some questions as i am new to this car so bare with me and i thank you all in advance as i get used to this new world of ZOOM ZOOM.

1. I notice on the clutch in order to get the car to start it has to be completly to the floor. Is that normal?

2. Reverse is hard to get into, i notice that it will i need to play a little with the clutch to get it to go at times and others it slides right on in. is this normal?

3. Where in the world is the cabin air filter? I assume its filthy the dash gets dirty fairly quickly.

4. Thrird brake light. I notice that what appears to be a clip is off on the plastic that goes over top of the light as when you are driving it is not even but rather it is sagging a little to the driver side. how do i fix this?

5. Steering seems really loose, dealership here in New Brunswick (Canada) advised that i need to get both control arms replaced, amazingly they screwed up on rims for my car so i worked out a deal to do a winter tire switch over and well now the car is not aligned, had a second opinion by another mechanic and he said that he does not see a problem with them. VW in this area could not be trusted anyone have thoughts?