Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

HELP!! Minivan rammed my brand new car!

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 01:25 PM
Default HELP!! Minivan rammed my brand new car!

Hello - I am new to all this. Does anyone know what I can do to the car to make the ride less bumpy? I don't know about modifying shock absorption.

Thank you so much!

Old 07-18-2006, 01:43 PM
Default RE: Help: Less bumps in the road

It won't handle as well if you soften up the suspension. If you currently have 17" rims/tires, you could downgrade to a 16" wheel/tire combo to give yourself more tire sidewall to absorb impacts. Take a look at your local dealership at the wheel/tire size that comes stock on the Mazda3. (The 3i comes equipped with 15" wheels/tires from the factory, but they won't fit on the 3s due to brake clearance.)

Most aftermarket suspension products are made to improve the handling of vehicles. This typically makes the ride more stiff, not less stiff.

Old 07-20-2006, 01:40 AM

>>Does anyone know what I can do to the car to make the ride less bumpy?>>

Yea, um, sell the car and buy a Camry. Sorry for being a smarty pants, I just couldn't help it ;-)

The car is bumpy but that's what a performance car rides like. This thing handles like it's on rails. The price you pay.

If you want to sell your 17" wheels and tires for $300, let me know.

Old 07-20-2006, 01:13 PM

[>:]

I had 16" on my old Focus and still bumpy...

Just trying to make adjustments to LOOVE the car... bumpy ride is my ONLY complaint right now and if that went away it would be wonderful.

Anyone know how it handles on icy roads, yet?

Old 07-20-2006, 05:18 PM
Super Moderator