Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

2002 Tribute rough idle, stalling

Old 09-17-2010, 08:08 PM
Default 2002 Tribute rough idle, stalling

Hello! I am new to this site and to Mazda's. I am primarily a VW driver but I haven't gotten my wife to convert yet She has a 2002 Tribute, V6, auto, FWD. She was having this problem where sometimes when she would put it in reverse, it would just shut off. No sputtering or anything like that, it would just die. It would crank back up just fine, and run just fine after that. It only happened randomly, but recently it had started to occur more often, so we took it into the local stealership. They informed us that it needed new plugs and a MAF sensor to the tune of around $940.. needless to say, I politely told them where they could stick it, and bought the parts myself for around $140. I replaced the MAF sensor one day, the next day there was no change, it would still shut off in reverse. So the day after that, I replaced the spark plugs, all the while finding out why they charge so much.. who designs a motor to where you have to remove the intake manifold to change some freaking spark plugs?? so anyways, after about an hour and a half of noodling with it, I was able to change the plugs out, got everything put back together, and started it back up. It cranked just fine but now it idles REALLY roughly. I drove it down the street, and it ran just fine, it will crank up just fine, but it still idles rough, and shuts off when thrown into reverse. Does anyone have any idea what's going on?