Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

Tube is cut, need help figuring out what it is

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 12:14 PM
Default Tube is cut, need help figuring out what it is

2003 Mazda Protege5. This tube is cut and seams to be leaking air while the engine is on. I can't find an engine bay diagram to find out what this tube is. Any ideas on what it is/does? Would it be okay to just wrap it with tape?

Attached Thumbnails Tube is cut, need help figuring out what it is-car.jpg  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:20 PM
Banned

I am not a protégé expert, but that line looks like it's a vaccuum line going to that round item on the left which looks a brake booster. How's your brakes feeling. Wrap it with tape to get somewhere to get the part and put in on when you get there. Phone for part first. Wait for tanprotege to respond he's the protégé expert.

Old 04-08-2013, 12:24 PM

Originally Posted by UseYourNoggin
I am not a protégé expert, but that line looks like it's a vaccuum line going to that round item on the left which looks a brake booster. How's your brakes feeling.
The brakes feel fine. My car was recently towed twice in the last 2 weeks. They replaced the battery and the alternator belt. I opened up my hood and found this tube leaking air. A friend said that this could be the brake booster or the cruise control actuator, neither of which i know anything about. Is this something I can just tape up with electrical tape or send back to the shop?

Old 04-08-2013, 12:30 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by Snakkub
The brakes feel fine. My car was recently towed twice in the last 2 weeks. They replaced the battery and the alternator belt. I opened up my hood and found this tube leaking air. A friend said that this could be the brake booster or the cruise control actuator, neither of which i know anything about. Is this something I can just tape up with electrical tape or send back to the shop?