Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style

Clip inside Rear Brake Caliper Piston

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2023, 03:42 AM
Default Clip inside Rear Brake Caliper Piston

Anyone know where this little broken clip goes inside the piston? Pulled apart piston and found it broken, I guess not a spare part. Photos attached.

Regards Steve

Old 01-07-2024, 07:28 PM
Default Possible location for circlip...

Mine came out not broken - just swimming in a puddle of break fluid. I'm not a Mazda engineer, but I think the circlip goes around the threads. My intact example definitely has a slope to the circle.

The threaded rod is screwed into the part pictured, so here's my amateur guess: that circlip meshes with one of the two cutouts on the end of the female part and ensures that there's always more pressure turning clockwise than counterclockwise to keep it assembled. Placing it on that way (bent end closer to the black mechanism - I have it backwards in the picture) also makes it easier to remove, which makes sense given it just fell off in there.

Old 01-08-2024, 04:59 AM
Super Moderator

I would be contacting local brake retailers and see what's included in a rebuild kit.

Old 01-11-2024, 09:54 PM
Default Rotate Circlip all the way down