Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Car washes

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2021, 07:57 PM
Default Car washes

Greetings fellow CX-5 owners. I'm new to the world of Mazda & the CX-5 is my first NEW car in over 15 years. I purchased a 2021 CX-5 Touring with the Snowflake White Pearl paint.
My question is, are car washes safe for the finish. I used one for my older vehicle that I just sold, without damage to the paint. I'm inquiring as I'm not physically able to wash a car myself.
Thanks for any advice for a newbie (to forums & Mazda)
Liz

Old 08-26-2021, 09:58 PM

Congratulations on your new car. Can you find a brushless or hand car wash so you can avoid the risk of scratching? A good ceramic coating will also help protect the paint. Paint Protection Film and the entire front end would be a good long term investment.

Old 08-26-2021, 10:13 PM

Thank you. I'm really excited about my new car! I will definitely do a search in my local area for a touchless/ hand wash.
What is the ceramic coating & film you mentioned?
Thank you for your help!

Old 08-26-2021, 11:20 PM

Ceramic coating is a polymer "polish" (for lack of a better word) applied to,the paint, in lieu of wax. Lasts much longer, several years, and protects the paint better. Reduces water spotting, etc. A good detailer can apply it, difficult to do if you haven't had experience with it. Paint Protective Film (PPF) is a thin film applied to the surface that will help protect from rock chips, scratches, etc. Specialty shops can apply it. Good idea to cover the front, hood, fenders, fronts of the rear view mirrors.

Old 08-27-2021, 07:41 AM