Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Help? Dash noise & Brake Moan!

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2006, 12:15 AM
Default Help? Dash noise & Brake Moan!

Greetings all.... I am an avid car nut, and have grown up around vehicles all my life. I have a lot of knowledge about cars. I have an 89 GT 5.0L Mustang that is built to the hills, that is crazy fast. I have built engines, rebuilt rear ends, helped perform restorations...etc. and can be most helpful to a lot of you as far as technical issues/recommendation etc... but first I need your help.

I have two persistent issues with my 04 Mazda 6 S 3.0L V-6 with 5-Speed Sport Automatic:

1. There is a noise coming from my dash that I have been unable to eliminate. It is very intermittent and is best described as a "muffled rattle" with a very occasional louder "pop" sound. The noise can happen over small or large bumps, or not at all for long periods of time, but is quite annonying when it's doing it. There is nothing like taking your buddy out for a drive and having him ask you "hey, whats that noise?" I have had the car about a year and bought it with only 4K miles. The problem first occurred around 7K mileage. I now have 17K on the car.

2. My second problem is at low speed manuevering while applying the brakes, I sometimes get a rather load "moaning" sound from the brakes. It is not a brake squeak or squeal, but a MOAN. This happens for example when pulling into a parking space, or into my driveway. I have checked all of the pads & rotors, dust gaurds, caliper slides, etc.... and can find nothing out of the ordinary.

If any of you have these issues, and knowhow to remedy them, I would be eternally greatful for your input and would definitely attempt to return the favor in the future. Thank You

Old 02-08-2006, 02:11 AM
Default RE: Help? Dash noise & Brake Moan!

There is a TSB for the brake moan. Take it to the dealer.