Mazda5 This new sport van from Mazda offers the interior size and usefulness of a minivan with the feel and spirit of a sport compact.

Should I buy a 5?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2016, 02:54 PM
Default Should I buy a 5?

Hello, Im a newb on the forums but I've been researching the 5 sport to buy and it looks like a promising choice but i just need to be swayed toward or against itI really enjoy the community the "van atmosphere" brings to the table

I will be moving 800 miles away from where i am currently and i need a vehicle to carry my stuff there, and i want to use the vehicle i purchase as an uber car when i move there as well.(it will be a daily driver) I will be living in an apartment for the first time ever and ill more than likely need to transport larger things like couches, tables ect. Id like good mileage (what is good real world mileage for a 5?) and ill be carrying passengers around all the time in the city.

So the question is would you buy a 5 for my purposes? Or would a mazda 3 wagon/hatch or other be more suited? Thank you for your input!

Old 12-30-2016, 12:42 PM

I have had both a 3 and a 5. I would go with the 5 given your need to move and use as an Uber taxi. Using your car for Uber: Be careful to check your transmission fluid regularly (every 3000 miles). In stop and go driving the 5 goes through transmission fluid every 25-30,000 miles. It caught us by surprise the first time. No worries now.

Old 09-28-2017, 03:49 AM

Originally Posted by jphiggins
I have had both a 3 and a 5. I would go with the 5 given your need to move and use as an Uber taxi. Using your car for Uber: Be careful to check your transmission fluid regularly (every 3000 miles). In stop and go driving the 5 goes through transmission fluid every 25-30,000 miles. It caught us by surprise the first time. No worries now.