Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Paint Chip Repair

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2007, 03:12 AM
Default Paint Chip Repair

I've researched this online, just looking for some confirmation.

Had a very small paint chip, about 1/16 of an inch in diameter, not down to metal (black primer showing).

Purchased some touch up paint at the dealer. Iapplied the smallest dab I could, using a pin. It's been curing now (inside, decent temperature) for about a day. It looks quite good,except that itprotrudes out in a slight bubble shape.

My plan is to let it dry for another few days, then gently wet sandthe bubbledown with 600 grit sand paper.

Any contrary suggestions?

Old 03-20-2007, 10:11 AM
Default RE: Paint Chip Repair

Hmmm i am no professional with paint, and on my ride i would certainly give it to one to do it for me. But i want to throw this out there and ask something myself. You've touched it with the paint, you've got a dome of sorts, i can imagine what it's like. If you sand it, you'll certanly have the sanded look in the spot, and possible get the surronding area in not uber carefull. So you'd then have to touch it up again, if even just the single spot right? I get a smooth unmarred paint finish to it, but my question is will it not have the same effect of a dome or raised area? The only way i can think of doing it is a prepping of the spot and surronding area and a spray. But then would you tell where new and old meet >.< I'm really curious about this, as I am doing alot of driving that;ll put my Speed3 in harmes way.

Old 03-20-2007, 03:26 PM

You could buff the paint out with a big buffer, or tape around the exposed area (literally leaving that TINY ***** open) then wet sand with some MUCH higher grade sand paper...do it slowly NOT fast.

Old 03-20-2007, 05:04 PM

yeah id suggest wet sanding it too...