Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Newbie with questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2008, 06:22 PM
Default Newbie with questions

Well like the subject says Im new to the Mazda3. I just bought a 2007 and I was looking at some mods to do. So my question is where to start. what should be the first things I look at upgrading and where do I find the parts. Im not looking at any body work yet I just wasnt to start with smaller engine mods to get some more HP out of the engine.

thanks alot.
Hoover

Old 01-24-2008, 06:35 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Newbie with questions

Short of an '07, you don't say what model, trim level or trans your new car has?
Exhaust is a good place to start, though a bit pricey, but you won't see much improvement anywhere else unless the spent gasses can escape w/o restriction.

If your OE tires suck, as most do, consider trading them in while they are still new and perhaps getting wheels at the same time. You can usually get a good trade in trade up value of they don't have too many miles on them yet. (Wish I had done that w/my BadYear's.)

Old 01-24-2008, 06:38 PM

Opps sorry about not putting in the trim its a mazda 3i with the automatic and has the man. mode on it. exhaust is a good idea but like you said kinda pricey lol. So what about Ram air intakes or cold air intakes?

Old 01-24-2008, 06:53 PM
Super Moderator

It won't go in if it can't get out first.
And, Ram Air intakes? These ain't the carburetter Mopars of old.
Stay away from hood scoops too. They will only look dumb and won't do any good, except maybe to extract hot air from the engine compartment if mounted backwards.

Old 01-24-2008, 07:13 PM

Ok so what would be the best exhuast to go with?

Old 01-24-2008, 07:40 PM
Super Moderator

Why...the one I have, of course!! The Vibrant!! https://www.mazdaforum.com/m_53114/tm.htm It does offer as part of the kit a high-flow cat and a 4" tip.