Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

HELP - Quiet Tires for '08 Hatch

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2010, 11:19 PM
Default HELP - Quiet Tires for '08 Hatch

My two front OEM tires need to be replaced, with rear two to come fairly soon. My biggest complaint with this car is noise over rough pavement, of which there is an abundance (to put it mildly) in the South Florida area.

Bought the car used, so this is my first time replacing the tires, and I'm hoping that might help the noise. Is this a realistic hope? And if so, what tires would you recommend to reduce the noise (while still maintaining handling) that will hold up well both in terms of mileage and continuing to be quiet over the life of the tires?

I'm hoping to stay under about $125/tire online. I've read the TireRack reviews by customers and gotten myself thoroughly confused. Multiple reviewers will rave about the lack of road noise, followed by someone complaining about the intense noise of any given tire.

TireRack suggested Kumho LX Platinum (which is a Grand Touring tire); Yokohama Avid Envigor and, at the cheapest end, Sumitomo HTR PO1. But obviously I'm open to other suggestions, and could go up a bit in price.

Thanks for any suggestions you can make.

Old 10-05-2010, 05:28 AM

Originally Posted by SoBeMazda
My two front OEM tires need to be replaced, with rear two to come fairly soon. My biggest complaint with this car is noise over rough pavement, of which there is an abundance (to put it mildly) in the South Florida area.

Bought the car used, so this is my first time replacing the tires, and I'm hoping that might help the noise. Is this a realistic hope? And if so, what tires would you recommend to reduce the noise (while still maintaining handling) that will hold up well both in terms of mileage and continuing to be quiet over the life of the tires?