Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

$760 for a spark plug, coils and gasket change????

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2019, 12:20 PM
Default $760 for a spark plug, coils and gasket change????

Just wondering if it was a lot lol

Old 05-30-2019, 12:30 PM

Hey ... I'm new to this Mazda tribute scene, in parts you are at about $100 retail I believe ... I heard it takes like 2 hours ... so max should be $250-350 of a job. You are talking about the intake gasket replacement right?

I have to do this plug job as preventative maintenance and I heard it's a pain b/c you have to take off the intake manifold.

But 760 is way much

Old 05-30-2019, 12:35 PM

Originally Posted by boostmg
Hey ... I'm new to this Mazda tribute scene, in parts you are at about $100 retail I believe ... I heard it takes like 2 hours ... so max should be $250-350 of a job. You are talking about the intake gasket replacement right?

I have to do this plug job as preventative maintenance and I heard it's a pain b/c you have to take off the intake manifold.

But 760 is way much
Yes. I’m replacing everything because my car has over 250k on it but it does seem a little bit too pricey

Old 05-30-2019, 06:20 PM

Originally Posted by Mazdatributelx
Yes. I’m replacing everything because my car has over 250k on it but it does seem a little bit too pricey
Its pricey even if they mean the rocker cover gaskets but for just plugs, coils and manifold gaskets its way too much. I do it in an hour without rushing, Allow the dealer 2 because... but it still doesnt add up. Get them to itemise the quote, go elsewhere or do it yourself.

Old 05-30-2019, 08:47 PM

Originally Posted by simonsi