Mazda RX-8 This new generation of the famed rotary car offers extra room, with the peformance and feel of performance car.

Possible purchase, is it good?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2008, 10:56 PM
Default Possible purchase, is it good?

I am new to the coup/car world as I have owned nothing but Land Rovers for the past 5 years. But it is time for me to move on and get away from the high maintanance rovers. I have chance to buy a Mazda RX-8 (auto, good condition) with 85,000 miles for $1000. I know very little about mazdas but I love the looks of this ride and love how it drives. But I guess I am wondering if these have alot of maintance? Also, is 85,000 miles alot for a mazda or does a mazda with 85K still have a lot of life left? I test drove the car and enjoyed it and the person selling it is the first owner who has maintianed it well. Just wondering if an 85K mazda RX-8 is going to need alot of work in the near future? Thanks guys.
-Mark

Old 04-23-2008, 07:46 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Possible purchase, is it good?

Ooooo!! That's a tough question, Mark. And did you mean $10,000?

Rotary's have their issues and if you are not prepared to do any work yourself, it could cost you some big bucks.
If the car was well maintained during it's 85K trip, it could be quite nice!! But, if abused, you might be in for the nightmare of your life... and I am aware of the reliability issues of the Land Rovers.I wouldn't touch one of those myself.
Has the car been Auto-crossed, dragged or Rallied? Was it a "weekend warrior" to the previous owner? Have you looked for a CarFAX report on it? I'd be very leery of this car if I were you. Before you buy it, be very thorough in your research.
May I suggest that you get on all the RX7-8 & Mazda forums you can find and read, read, read. Ask questions. The rotary engine is not for everybody and is an entity unto itself.

Old 04-23-2008, 08:27 AM