Mazda MPV This minivan was among the class leaders with its roomy interior and efficient powertrain.

2004 MPV: The Ballad of P0106

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2022, 07:16 PM
Angry 2004 MPV: The Ballad of P0106

Let me start this story with a few disclaimers. First off, only in the loosest possible sense and in very dim light could I be confused with someone who knows what they're doing. Secondly, I'm not a mechanic at all, and can only do the most basic tasks with a screwdriver. Anything beyond removing the engine cover is a daunting task for someone with my lack of skill and chunky fingers. Take this the tale - as-yet-unfinished though it may be - with those in mind.

I have a 2004 Mazda MPV, with roughly 143,000 miles on it. It's a good van, though it lacks any sort of glamour or really anything beyond the most modest features one could get in this vehicle. I'm the second owner. Aside from a few scratches and a few unsightly dings, she is in quite good shape.

Three weeks ago, toward late April, all of a sudden my check engine light came on. I have a cheap Amazon OBDII scanner and an app on my phone, so I hooked it up and it gave me the following code:

P0106 - Absolute Manifold Pressure something something something

Well, I pondered that for a bit, but the van was otherwise driving fine, so I cleared the code to see if it would recur (knowing that it would, because that's how my life works, but figuring I'd see.)

Three days later, the check engine light came on again. I hooked up my scanner and was presented with not one but TWO codes:

P0401 - Exhaust Gas Recirculation Flow Insufficient etc etc etc

Okay, so, like Donny, I was definitely out of my element. I called my preferred shop, who's done right by me on several occasions, but they were literally booked out a month. I need a vehicle before that. I called my less-favored choice, a much closer but more expensive shop. They could get me in. I dropped off the van with them.