Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Laws of probability

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2023, 02:58 PM
Default Laws of probability

The laws of chance caught up with me last night. Counting tractors as a kid, I've been driving for 60 years. I've raced, drove a truck, had police pursuit training and generally put a lot of accident free miles behind me. Last night, I didn't have time to react.

I had the girl friend with me and she just heard a bang when that deer hit me. She said I didn't flinch, I just pulled over and stopped. I should hope not, flinching is how you roll a car. She didn't feel the car do a thing. The CX-5 is pretty stable, even when hit in the side by a Deer running full speed. All I saw was a Deer head out of the corner of my eye then it hit.

The door won't open. I'm afraid if I force it, it may not close again. I'm hoping the center post isn't hurt as I really like this car and it held up well from the impact. There are a couple of dents in the drivers door, but the Deer's body toasted the rear door.

There was a pickup behind me and I asked him if it was a Deer. He had stopped rather than hit it. He said it was. It flew over my car, jumped up and took off running. I try not to drive at that half hour around dusk when the sun is going down as that's when Deer are out and THIS happens.

If you're thinking of a CX-5, this is how they stand up to a pretty severe impact. I think anybody in the back seat would have been unhurt. I've seen other cars hit like this be totaled.

Last edited by Grouch; 06-11-2023 at 03:20 PM. Reason: i kant spel wurth a durn
Old 06-11-2023, 03:17 PM

Sorry to hear about your encounter with a forest rat. Hopefully it can be repaired and not totalled.

My daughter lives in southern IN and we constantly remind her to be on the lookout when driving.

Old 06-11-2023, 03:21 PM