Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Embarrassing problem...

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2022, 09:10 AM
Default Embarrassing problem...

Greetings fellow CX-5 owners. Thanks for having me here. I have an embarrassing problem. I've never owned a car like my new 2019 CX-5, (I purchased it a month ago and it was a lease turn-in with only 10,000 miles on it. Looked brand new.) I really love it. Best car I have ever owned. But I keep doing an awful thing by accident. Because I now have a fob and no key, and the car has a pushbutton start, I have, at last count, left my car running and walked away from it five times! The last time was particularly bad, as I left the car running, outside my house,. for HOURS. We had a tree fall on our house and I was distracted by dealing with the tree guys. When I realized what I had done, I went inside and the display screen said it was too hot to function. The damn car runs so quiet that you can barely hear it running. I guess my question is: is there a way that I can set the car to alert me or auto shut off if I get out and walk away while it is running? I have been trying really hard to remember to press the Engine Stop button, but sometimes I just forget, because I am so used to taking a key out of an ignition after turning off my car. I CAN'T be the only knucklehead who has done thins. Thanks for any help.

Old 08-08-2022, 11:16 AM

As far as I am aware the only way to do that is with a specialized custom aftermarket alarm system. Mine shuts off after 3 minutes. This not only prevents what happen to you but also a would-be thief only gets 3 minutes of driving time. You cannot restart my MAZDA without a special re activation sequence.

I am surprised you did not hear or ignored the walk away chime indicating that you left the engine running?

Old 08-08-2022, 11:30 AM

Originally Posted by Callisto