Replacing radio - Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums


Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-25-2015, 02:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1
Default Replacing radio

I'm picking up my 2008 Mazda 6i Sport tomorrow. It comes with a 6CD disc changer, but there's no AUX or USB port.
I want to install my Pioneer system I have (DEH-X5500HD), and I have a couple of questions. (And thanks ahead of time!!) My father will be the one doing the installation for me, and luckily we still have all the wires necessary, so we shouldn't need anything else. I don't think. But this is what I'm wondering about. (I have other questions but feel it'd probably be unfair to post them here)
Will the audio controls on the steering wheel still function or do I use the Pioneer remote or face unit like before?

Would it be easier to just get an AUX adapter and install that? If so, does installing that negate the usage of the CD player?

Here is a shot of the panel:

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2015, 08:21 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: new jersey
Posts: 8
Default

Check here for plugs and other accessories.


Car Stereo Installation at Crutchfield.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2015, 04:12 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denver
Posts: 19
Default

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2017, 08:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1
Default

Getting ready to replace radio in 2012 Mazda 3 with a used radio of same style. Anyone know if it will need to be programmed or not? Trying to save money by doing it ourselves. Just a standard radio with cd
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2017, 06:15 AM
Super Moderator

 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,991
Default

Should be plug & play.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2017, 05:02 AM
jaimie08mazda3's Avatar
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Guelph ontario
Posts: 2,901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CinKay1.2 View Post
Getting ready to replace radio in 2012 Mazda 3 with a used radio of same style. Anyone know if it will need to be programmed or not? Trying to save money by doing it ourselves. Just a standard radio with cd
if your replacing it with another radio make sure it's not one that doesn't have the bose system plug in or your back to square one and need to find another deck. Unless your car does have bose that is. But if you find the same one you had your golden. Although the second gen decks are simple to swap. [img][/img] it looked great and the best part was when I bought it the wiring and kit had already been done. So it was remove plug in and put in. Although my double din and the many wires including 4 for door speakers to the rear amp. It's nice to go aftermarket and you get to keep the clock and temperature gauge.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loss of clock and display when replacing radio gomiboy Mazda3 0 05-04-2011 08:45 PM
Replacing stock CD/Radio mrlaugh01 Mazda3 4 01-28-2011 12:22 PM
mazda3 sirus radio direct hook up to radio console esloyer Mazda3 2 04-07-2009 03:25 PM
Replacing standard radio with aftermarket dribblytrib Mazda Tribute 1 04-24-2007 10:02 PM
How can I hook up my Sirius Radio in to the Car Radio? harleyhugger Audio/Visual Electronics 0 01-12-2007 12:30 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.