Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. Let's hear about it here.

Replacing radio

  #1  
Old 05-25-2015, 02:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1
Default Replacing radio

I'm picking up my 2008 Mazda 6i Sport tomorrow. It comes with a 6CD disc changer, but there's no AUX or USB port.
I want to install my Pioneer system I have (DEH-X5500HD), and I have a couple of questions. (And thanks ahead of time!!) My father will be the one doing the installation for me, and luckily we still have all the wires necessary, so we shouldn't need anything else. I don't think. But this is what I'm wondering about. (I have other questions but feel it'd probably be unfair to post them here)
Will the audio controls on the steering wheel still function or do I use the Pioneer remote or face unit like before?

Would it be easier to just get an AUX adapter and install that? If so, does installing that negate the usage of the CD player?

Here is a shot of the panel:

 
  #2  
Old 07-18-2015, 08:21 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: new jersey
Posts: 8
Default

Check here for plugs and other accessories.


Car Stereo Installation at Crutchfield.com
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-2015, 04:12 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denver
Posts: 19
  #4  
Old 02-28-2017, 08:43 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1
Default

Getting ready to replace radio in 2012 Mazda 3 with a used radio of same style. Anyone know if it will need to be programmed or not? Trying to save money by doing it ourselves. Just a standard radio with cd
 
  #5  
Old 03-02-2017, 06:15 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 3,548
Default

Should be plug & play.
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-2017, 05:02 AM
jaimie08mazda3's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Guelph ontario
Posts: 2,901
Default

Originally Posted by CinKay1.2 View Post
Getting ready to replace radio in 2012 Mazda 3 with a used radio of same style. Anyone know if it will need to be programmed or not? Trying to save money by doing it ourselves. Just a standard radio with cd
if your replacing it with another radio make sure it's not one that doesn't have the bose system plug in or your back to square one and need to find another deck. Unless your car does have bose that is. But if you find the same one you had your golden. Although the second gen decks are simple to swap. [img][/img] it looked great and the best part was when I bought it the wiring and kit had already been done. So it was remove plug in and put in. Although my double din and the many wires including 4 for door speakers to the rear amp. It's nice to go aftermarket and you get to keep the clock and temperature gauge.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
gomiboy
Mazda3
0
05-04-2011 08:45 PM
mrlaugh01
Mazda3
4
01-28-2011 12:22 PM
esloyer
Mazda3
2
04-07-2009 03:25 PM
dribblytrib
Mazda Tribute
1
04-24-2007 10:02 PM
harleyhugger
Audio/Visual Electronics
0
01-12-2007 12:30 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Replacing radio


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.