Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Predicted corrosion rate unchanged for Mazda 6?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2013, 09:54 AM
FRH
Default Predicted corrosion rate unchanged for Mazda 6?

I'm a newbie to this forum and also to Mazda - or possibly so. I'm considering the 2014 Mazda 6, but the historical issue of rust lingers. The web is littered with sad reports from owners of various models and years - including the 6. I really like the new Grand Touring trim/style, but I don't think I can justify the outlay of a fun car whose predecessors did not hold up very well to the environment. I'm struggling to find a credible source showing what Mazda has done to retard corrosion in its new cars. I imagine things could well be different now, given the changed relationship with Ford, the move of mfg to Japan, possibly different steel, techniques. Anyone have reports to read or info to offer?

To appreciate my personal point of comparison, our '04 Accord (110K miles in the northeast) still has no visible body rust, and we are not **** about washing/rinsing.

Old 04-01-2013, 10:05 AM
Banned

My 2006 Mazda 6 is showing signs of rust around rear fender well inside lip close to tire. I have rustproofing/spraying and will visit him this week.
The electronic rust proofing is a total waste of money. Those things use to get mounted with screws but the screws rusted so now they use double sided tape!

Old 04-01-2013, 02:17 PM

FRH: I casually observed that Mazda's rust protection leaves something to desire. If you like Mazda otherwise consider getting additional rust protection before the first winter hits.
This one kind of makes sense to me:Krown Rust Control| Rustproofing and Protection for Cars, Trucks, Vans
I have no idea how much it would be to do a car.

Old 04-01-2013, 08:58 PM
FRH