Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Mazda 6 Sport Wagon, brakes/warranty?

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2007, 02:18 PM
Default Mazda 6 Sport Wagon, brakes/warranty?

Newbie here, and not really well inclinded mechanically, anywho, to my question if someone may assist, thanks in advance. As stated I have a Mazda 6 Sport Wagon with 48k on it bought it new, I took it to the dealership the other day to have the recall done, and they said my brakes needed replaced new rotors and pads. I can understand new pads, but are new rotors necessary at this point? They haven't mirrored....Any feedback or isnight would be great... Also am I a moron to think that brakes are covered in the initial 4/50k warranty? If they do need replaced what is the best place to by the parts and do it myself? Thx again...

Old 06-26-2007, 03:57 PM
Default RE: Mazda 6 Sport Wagon, brakes/warranty?

Typically, anything that can be classified as normal wear and tear will fall under your waranty. So, yes they probably should, you may want to wait for a second opinion though. I would be completely floored, though, if you were to find out that a brake job doesn't fall under waranty. As far as parts you need and doing it yourself go, I can't help you out. Sorry, wish there was more I could tell you.

-Cameron Keffer

Old 06-26-2007, 11:35 PM

Actually, normal wear and tear items aren't typically covered under warranty. The warranty is to protect against defects, not normal wear and tear.

Old 06-27-2007, 08:08 AM

Really? Huh, that's interresting,and something to keep in mind over the next 10K miles left in my warranty. One question though, is 50K miles (give or take) typically the service life of our rotors?The brake padsI can understand, but is replacing (rather than machining) the rotors typical at this mileage?

-Cameron Keffer

Old 06-27-2007, 03:04 PM