Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Mazda 6 Brake Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2009, 11:05 PM
Default Mazda 6 Brake Upgrade

Hello folks! Newbie here. The wife just upgraded out of her 2004 Mazda 6. We were going to trade it in but the thing barely has 45K miles on it and "stealership" wouldn't even want to give us BB value for it so I decided to keep it as my daily driver instead to keep mileage off my baby ('09 MB C63 AMG). Its a sport model with pretty much every option and great condition except for normal wear and tear on the front end paint due to rocks. Believe it or not, in the 5 years we've owned this car, I had driven it maybe 5 times. Now that I drive it regularly, Im starting to get used to it and it's "nuances". For starters (and I know this is no way a remotely fair comparison), I just can't get used to the brakes on this vehicle. Hopping out of my C63 and into the 6 just seems like the things takes forever to stop compared to the MB, so this has become my 1st project. I'm looking to upgrade the brakes to cross-drilled/slotted rotors and hi-perf brake pads and possibly even calipers if i can find something better than the stockers out there. What do you guys recommend as far as calipers and rotors for this car?

Old 07-28-2009, 07:24 AM

Wilwood performance brake kit or Brembo performance brake kit. They can be pricey!

Old 07-28-2009, 09:57 AM