Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Destroyed my front end...ABS issue...I think.

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2007, 02:36 AM
Default Destroyed my front end...ABS issue...I think.

Hey there everyone, this is my first time posting here and I am glad to see so many people enjoying their cars; including me - that is until yesterday.

I have (had) a 2004 Mazda 6 GT-I4 and have absolutely loved it. I live in Alberta, so our winters get pretty crazy. I have a set of Blizzaks WS-50's mounted on 15" steel wheels and have been amazed at the traction.

yesterday, after driving my wife and child home, I was a block away from work when the accident happened.

I was only doing about 35 kmh, and about to turn right...a semi pulling a trailer was ahead in my lane and had a green...I was coasting when I realized that he wasn't moving - apparantely he was trying to go, but too icy - I applied the brakes only to have them freeze up...no abs; no ability to steer - I had tried to lean over and hit the snow drift on the curb and had a car on my left - I tried letting off the gas and applying again and same thing...no ABS...I destroyed the front end and am waiting for the adjuster to determine the extent of the damage. By the way, I skidded for about 60 to 80 feet.

The problem with the lack of abs has happened a couple of times, but never thought anything of it because I didn't hit anything....

Has anyone else experience their ABS failing on them? The only reason I ask is because I have gone 16 years without an accident and don't drive like an idiot. I truly had no control of my car, and couldn't even steer out of the skid because all my tires were locked...I even tried using the E brake to slide the back end out.

Old 01-14-2007, 11:42 AM
Default RE: Destroyed my front end...ABS issue...I think.