Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

Cleaning gearbox indicator...

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2007, 01:41 PM
Default Cleaning gearbox indicator...

Well. I am not a mechanic so I will try and make sense of this. I have the automatic. On the center console, there is a gear indicator like P, N, D and what not. There is no protection of the the little square that displays the letters. It is really dirty in there. How can I clean that? Can I take off the plate that covers that to get to it? Dust and other junk get in there, and the square is too small to clean effectively. Any ideas? Thanks.

-6 guy

Old 03-15-2007, 02:23 PM
Default RE: Cleaning gearbox indicator...

it should come off.... there may be a couple of screws.... there may be a small square on top that will pop off... there will be 1-2 bolts that you will unscrew, and the console should pop off... altho, you may need to take some other parts off too... i drive a mazda3, and i have a little sqaure that pops off, and i believe my old civic was like that too

Old 03-15-2007, 04:23 PM
Default RE: Cleaning gearbox indicator...

You can pull out that panel, but it takes a little to get to it (it's snapped into the ashtray panel from the bottom.)

Pull out the cupholder panel (pull straight up at the 4 corners of the cupholder, don't pull on the lid if you have one.)
Remove your shift **** (unscrew counterclockwise)
With your shifter in the "N" or "R" position, slide the ashtray panel (with PRNDL attached) up....there will be a couple of wire harnesses going into the ashtray panel for the lightbulbs that illuminate the PRNDL, give the bulb socket a small twist and they should pop out.