Mazda6 This powerful new sedan offers a sporty feel and stout engine, all without compromising the ability to seat 5.

2006 Mazda6 problems!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2006, 01:35 PM
Default 2006 Mazda6 problems!!!!

Hi,

I'm new to the Mazda Forum but not new to Mazdas. I purchased a brand new Mazda6 on May 13th, 2006. It has now been in the shop a total of ten days for three different problems. One week after my purchase the check engine light came on with no noticeable problems. It was on a Friday evening so I was stuck for the weekend. A friend suggested I check the gas cap. I hadn't gotten gas yet, but I opened and closed it so that it clicked like they suggest. When my salesman called on Saturday morning, I told him about the check engine light. He also suggested the gas cap issue and that if I didn't want to wait until Monday to bring it into the service department, I could take it to a local AutoZone and have them check the codes. That day the check engine light went out, so I assumed maybe the gas cap was the culprit and all was well. Well, the following Wednesday the light was back on again. This went on with the light going on and off all that week. I took it to AutoZone on May 27th and their read out suggested that it was either a MAP sensor or a barometric pressure sensor. I took it into the service department on May 30th and they replaced the MAP sensor. On June 1st, after having it back one day, the check engine light came on again. I called the service department and spoke, once again, to the customer service tech. He said to bring it in on Monday and I asked if it would be alright to drive it on the weekend. He told me it would be fine (without knowing what the problem was and just assuming it was the other sensor that AutoZone's read out indicated). I took it back in on June 6th. They replaced the barometric sensor and I received it back on Thursday the 8th. During a funeral procession on June 13th, my adult children and I were entering the