Mazda5 This new sport van from Mazda offers the interior size and usefulness of a minivan with the feel and spirit of a sport compact.

Mazda 5 Clutch Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2012, 04:42 AM
Angry Mazda 5 Clutch Problems

I have had my Mazda 5 56 plate for almost 2 years. I do a lot of driving majority of which is motorway.When I got the car it had on 36,000 miles at 56,000 miles it needed a new clutch. I wasn't happy with this clutch difficult to get into 1st and reverse gear kept mentioning this to the garage, said there was nothing wrong, now another 34,000 miles and 15 months later the clutch has gone. The garage say it is fair wear and tear. I am confused I am a lady driver not some trucker wearing doc martin boots. How on earth can a car which is done 92,000 miles get through 3 clutches. I am being patronised they are saying to me things like we will show you the clutch etc., but how do I know if it was ever fitted right in the first place?? Looking on the net these clutches do seem to have problems on the Mazda 5. I bought a Mazda having had a Zafira before because of their reputation and outside of this problem I just love it.
I need ammunition help please I ought to add that I have been dealing with a Mazda Dealership

Last edited by Maltkiln; 01-20-2012 at 04:45 AM.
Old 01-20-2012, 10:28 AM

Unfortunately, there's nothing you can do about a worn clutch. When the clutch was first replaced it shouldn't have been difficult to get into 1st or reverse. This is indicative of the clutch not releasing properly, which could either be a faulty clutch cover or air in the hydraulics. This should have been rectified at the time.
A new vehicle's clutch is generally only warranted for 9000 miles due to the fact that
it's possible to burn a clutch out very quickly by poor clutch control.