Anyone know if you can swap a bad SRS Airbag Module for a good one w/o reprogramming - Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Go Back  Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums > Mazda Vehicles > Mazda5
Reload this Page >

Anyone know if you can swap a bad SRS Airbag Module for a good one w/o reprogramming

Mazda5 This new sport van from Mazda offers the interior size and usefulness of a minivan with the feel and spirit of a sport compact.

Anyone know if you can swap a bad SRS Airbag Module for a good one w/o reprogramming

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-12-2018, 07:46 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: FL
Posts: 2
Question Anyone know if you can swap a bad SRS Airbag Module for a good one w/o reprogramming

Got into an accident with my 2010 Mazda 5. Airbags did not deploy but since the collision the airbag light is flashing code 12. Hooked it up to FORScan and am reading codes B1318 (low voltage) and B1342 (ECU defective). From what I have read B1318/code 12 indicates the ECU has bad capacitors and failed. I don't know how true that is but it seems strange that it would fail after a collision. The only thing I can think is that the airbags were supposed to deploy and didn't!

I picked up a supposedly good airbag module for cheap. Can I just plug this in and go or do I have to have it reprogrammed? If so looks like I will have to bring it to the dealership and they will probably charge a fortune.

The only thing I can think of is that the VINs won't match and maybe it will throw up an airbag code. However will it still work? If it has to be reprogrammed, what will happen when I plug it in? Will it still deploy airbags in a collision if the VINs don't match?



Body shop said they will fix the problem but it will cost me more $$$ and they said they will have to bring it to mazda anyway. They already fixed the car and left the computer in it's current state. Can't get any more from insurance since I have hit the 80% so anything additional is out of pocket. Looking to fix this myself if possible.
 
Attached Thumbnails Anyone know if you can swap a bad SRS Airbag Module for a good one w/o reprogramming-airbag-module-2.png   Anyone know if you can swap a bad SRS Airbag Module for a good one w/o reprogramming-airbag-module.png  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2018, 01:56 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 2,956
Default

Plug it in & see what happens.

I'm quite sure it will need reprogramming to your car.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2018, 10:48 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: FL
Posts: 2
Default

Swapped in a module from ebay and it worked fine. Didn't need to reprogram it.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
birdsondabat
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
05-31-2008 09:31 PM
tenytini
Mazda Tribute
7
11-04-2007 05:33 PM
Gavin
Mazda6
3
10-19-2007 09:18 AM
vwls
Off Topic
3
11-17-2005 08:33 PM
lightnix
Mazda Miata (MX-5)
4
11-07-2005 10:27 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory