Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

Tires

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2008, 08:46 PM
Default Tires

I am new to the madza world as I bought a 2007 madza3 this past Sat. 8-16-08 with 11,832 miles on it. It's the s touring with origional Goodyear 205/50-17 Eagle RS-A.
After these tires wear out what would fit that not a low profile and would it require a wheel change. Any info would be helpful.

Old 08-19-2008, 11:56 PM
Default RE: Tires

First, if the car has only 12K miles on it, you should have a long time to make the decision.

What don't you like about the current tire size?

Tell us about your driving. Mostly highway, mostly city, or 50/50? Driving for performance, or for economy? Are the current Goodyears doing the job for you?

You have 17 inch rims, so you have to buy 17 inch tires, unless you want to buy new rims.

Old 08-20-2008, 04:44 AM

Everything that will fit on the 17 inch wheel and fit under the car will be a low profile tire.

Old 08-20-2008, 07:32 AM

This car is complete new to me as any small car is, because in the last 21 years i have only driven pick-ups. My driving style is consertive and easy. Drive appx 30% city and 70% country roads here in central Texas. With 12,200 miles om my tires now what kind of millage can i expect. At $200.00 a tire i need to get arleast 50,000 out of these.

Old 08-20-2008, 03:55 PM
Super Moderator

First of all, the Bad Year's are over-priced crap, so I wouldn't replace them w/same any way. After 3 cars/three sets of Good Year's and 3 bad experiences w/them, it'll be a cold day in hell when I give them my money again.
I got <20K on mine before they were @ the wear indicators and could not have been happier to have to replace them. Skipping uncontrollably sideways in the rain was normal for them. I HATED them. GY wanted $293 ea. + mounting and balancing when my went bad. I laughed in their faces.

Old 08-20-2008, 08:07 PM