Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

please help! air in cooling system - suspected headgasket?

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2014, 08:53 PM
Default please help! air in cooling system - suspected headgasket?

Hi everyone. I'm very new to the mazda scene. Just began to like the mazda 3 hatchbacks recently and purchased my first a couple days ago. It's an original owner, 2004, 280k km (170k miles) with all the service records and regular oil changes, and it runs awesome. When i bought it I had checked the oil, coolant, and all other fluids and they appeared normal. The previous owner had known and told me about the air in the cooling system and how when the vehicle was at idle, cool(er) air would come from the heater.

I suspect a headgasket issue for these reasons;
- I tried to "burp" the cooling system, was somewhat successful for 1 day - air got back into the system
- Coolant reservoir smells of exhaust
- Did a 2 minute run above idle when cold and very small amount of pressure had built up in reservoir
- Took cap off and allowed vehicle to warm up, reservoir almost overflowed (however no bubbles were visible entering the reservoir)

Something to be noted is that I drove it 3 hours home without any issues, and around town the last few days with normal engine temperatures.
It's weird because the oil has a normal consistency and the coolant looks like a proper green. The exhaust smells normal, doesn't have a very "sweet" smell.
I'll also add that the thermostat was changed 1000km ago, and the water pump was changed at 200k (120k miles), and a coolant flush was done 5000km ago.

The reason I'm posting here is to see if im missing anything - if for some reason it's not the headgasket and I'm missing something small.