Mazda3 Offered in both a sedan and wagon, this sporty model offers a great car for the family, as well a fun track car.

a/c performance

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2014, 10:39 PM
Exclamation a/c performance

My name is Paul. I am a chevy mechanic here in Arizona, and have had my 2007 mazda3 since 2006. bought it brand new with 7 miles on it, an since day 1 the a/c hasn't performed very well. ive taken it to the dealer many times for this reason, and they told me each time that it is working as designed; that this models design wasn't very efficient, therefore didn't work too well in the Arizona heat.

As I said, Im a chevy mechanic and am not familiar with imports. was the advisor at the dealer blowing smoke up my butt or is he correct, that this models a/c system sucks? I have access to an a/c machine and have checked pressures and refrigerant level many times. there are no leaks, as far as I can see. the sticker says the proper weight is 1.1lbs of refrigerant, but i have found that it seems to cool better at .9lbs. The pressures are ok. it seems to be ok when driving on the freeway in recirc mode, but any other time its not good enough. If anyone can give me a hint or tell me how to fix it, i would be so happy. Thanks.

Old 06-08-2014, 09:33 AM