Mazda Tribute This low-priced SUV allows the driver the versatility of an SUV without the big fuel bill of many of the vehicles in the SUV class.

P0403 engine code

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2016, 10:36 AM
Default P0403 engine code

P0403 Engine code is the bane of my existence. I have been fighting with this code for 2 years now in my wife's 2004 Tribute V6.

The code is egr circuit malfunction. Ive replaced the EGR valve and solenoid with brand new parts. Ive had it to the mechanic and he cant figure it out either. He keeps telling the only parts to really fail in this system are the 2 i already replaced. I live in NJ and the DMV inspection has been past due for 9 months now because i cannot figure whats actually wrong. I am a hand on guy with a mechanical mind and can swap out parts no problem, but i dont know enough about engines and the way exhaust is handled to really diagnose this problem.

The car runs great, but wont pass inspection with this code on. Anybody else have a similar problem or know what else i could try?

thanks!

Old 01-17-2023, 05:45 PM

i have the same problem. p0403 egr valve circuit malfunction. its the same thing on my 2008 mazda 3 hatchback 2.3 L. ive been battling this for a year now. i have done just about everything except replace wire harness or reprogram. today i took off the intake manifold (took me 2 days) and i cleaned out everything and replaced all vacuum hoses. car has @144k on it and i dont drive it much at all. im a daily motorcyclist. so i have to schedule an appointment once every blue moon to at least drive it around the block or run it on the hwy. i keep very little gas in it.