Mazda RX-7 Starting in the 1970s, the uniquely powered RX-7 helped put Mazda on the performance car map.

Newbie needing help,stressed out bad!

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2006, 04:43 PM
Default Newbie needing help,stressed out bad!

whats up guys im new to the rx7 world. just bought an 87 13b nt and its giving me problems and stressing me out real bad. it drives fine(well sorta),it shifts through all the gears just fine. the main problem is that it wont go above 60. its gutless as hell. the guy i bought it from said it needs new popoff valves, but ive never heard of them.the way i look at is is thier could be a 100 things wrong and i could just figure it out by procces of elimanation. dont mind doing that but i need help knocking a lot of things out. Ive been thinking that it might be fuel pump/filter but I really dont know. Please guys i need help bad.

Old 09-14-2006, 11:07 PM
Default RE: Newbie needing help,stressed out bad!

Not sure what he would be talking about a pop off valve on a non-turbo either?? A pop-off valve would be used on a turbo engine to relieve intake overpressure when the throttle is suddenly closed while in boost.