Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

Smell of Gas in Cabin

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 08:08 PM
Question Smell of Gas in Cabin

I just bought a 2002 Protege5 with 126K miles. I'm smelling gas in the cabin. Sometimes thru the air vents. Sometimes not. I pulled the hatch under the back seat. Looked okay, however, I did not lift the 8 screws and peer inside at the fuel pump area. Should I? What would I look for specifically? I'm not a mechanic.

What else should I consider?

Old 02-17-2012, 07:28 PM
Default rubber fuel lines

I had something similar. The rubber hoses going to the fuel pump were dry rotted and cracked and needed to be replaced. I had to locate the fuel pump for my sedan which was under a panel bolted to the underside of the wheel well to replace them. For older cars, it is very important to inspect all of the rubber hoses and vacuum hoses and replace them if they are suspect. Heat, age, vibration, etc. takes a toll on them and they do not last forever. Once I find the correct size, I usually buy a spool of it and go to town replacing them.

Old 02-23-2012, 08:42 PM

I am going to replace my fuel pump body, since I now have gas leaking down the gas tank.

They are known to crack and gas to leak out. (Plastic, it figures)

Similar to this thread:
https://www.mazdaforum.com/forum/maz...v-2000-a-2781/

RockAuto sells a Beck-Arnley "fuel filter" which is actually the assembly.
I found out NAPA sells a similar one by Altrom Imports

You need to order a few things from a dealer:
Plate BJ0E-42-16XE (only if existing is in bad shape)
Gasket B25D-42-166
O-ring ZL01-13-ZE5

I ordered some metric stainless steel cap screws from boltdepot.com to replace the existing screws.
"Metric socket cap, Stainless steel 18-8, 4mm x 0.7mm x 8mm"

I guess I was lucky with mine, all of the screws can come out easily.

NAPA has a 10% sale if you reserve online and pickup in the store from 2/23-2/27