Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

protege5

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 03:12 PM
Default protege5

im new to the sight.ive got an 02protege 5 with engine light on.ive taken it to the shop and had diagnostic ran.mechanic said it was prob bad MAF sensor b/c of close circuit readings.So...got new MAF,and now seems to run worse.The vehicle runs fine while driving,but rpms drop and start to sputter a few sec after coming to a stop.Sometimes even stalls out.Anyone have any ideas on this?

Old 11-05-2012, 12:03 AM

Welcome to the forums!! If you could fill out your signature (use mine for example) with all your vehicles details it would help us out tremendously! So what car do you have (engine, trans etc)? It sounds like you have a vacuum leak somewhere, start by checking all your intake piping especially the flex tube from the MAF to the throttle body since it got worse after changing it, the tube might be cracked, next if there are no cracks VERY CAREFULLY spray starter fluid around the intake manifold and various vacuum lines while the engine is running, if you hit a bad gasket or vac line the idle will rise with the added fuel.

Old 11-05-2012, 07:45 PM

Its an 02 protege5 automatic trans.When i had it in the shop the mechanic checked for vaccum leaks and said he found none.He did however mention i should replace the intake.Its some cheap POS short ram that was on the vehicle when i bought it.I dont really want to go back to the factory box though.I would like to add new headers/exhaust later on.The drop in rpms comes and goes with every drive.Sometimes barely noticable.But only noticable when stopped.Coming to a stop too fast seems to cause it to be worse.

Old 11-05-2012, 11:56 PM