Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

Overheated - Is the head warped?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2010, 04:34 PM
Default Overheated - Is the head warped?

Hello all,

First off, i'm new to mazda forum. I am inquiring about a friends car. Long story short, a friend of ours, a struggling single mom, was gifted a 2000 Protege with 108,000 mi. It seems to be pretty sound. It sat for almost a year. The first thing that went wrong was the belts squeeled like mad. Before I got a chance to replace them, she shredded & threw the alt/H2O belt. Unknowningly of the consiquences, she drove it a short ways to work. Maybe 2 miles in 38d - 40d weather. After work, she drove to Autozone (approx. 3/4 mi) to see about getting a belt. Luckily they stopped her from driving it anymore.

I am in the process of replacing both belts, but i'm wondering how much damage has already been done? She said the temp guage never made it fully pegged to hot, but was very close. It's also thrown a code (haven't checked it yet) & when I started it to drive it up my driveway & into my garage, it's revving at like 2,000rpm. I have never dealt with a vehicle that suffered overheating problems. I've only repaired the aftermath of full blown signs of a blown headgasket; on a '03 Nissan Sentra (very similar) & also a '85 Toyota 22R. Any thoughts out there? Do you think the head is warped or gasket was compromised? Should I have a leakdown done on it to find out?

Also, I broke the damn plastic oil dipstick off in the tube, ironically, pulling it out so I wouldn't damage it. Any ideas where to pick one up cheap? No luck at local wreckers, ebay or Google. Dealer wants $30

Thanks for the help & advice.

Old 01-28-2010, 04:32 PM