Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

New Owner Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2013, 10:30 AM
Default New Owner Questions

Hi Everyone. I'm a Mazda noob.

Last week we bought a 1997 Protege to replace the Chevy Prizm that my college student daughter lost in a rush-hour traffic accident. (no injuries, luckily!) It's going back to school in Texas with her in a few weeks. The paint is typical for a car that has spent 15 years in the New Mexico sun (clearcoat is missing from all the horizontal surfaces and much of the passenger side), but it came with only 70,000 miles on it. The seller said he had never changed the timing belt so I did that a few days ago and have an oil change planned for today.

A few questions:

I noticed that the fat round cuffs where the axles join the transaxle are green in color. Do they come like that, or are these aftermarket replacements?

I didn't change the water pump while the timing cover was off. I tried, but could not get the bolts off the inlet hose under the AC pump and my hands were already scratched and swollen from working in all the tight places; I decided to close it up while I had some skin left. (I'm naming the car "JAWS".) How many miles can I expect the original to last?

Spring Break or Summer I plan on changing tranny fluid / filter. Do you have any other suggestions to keep this a reliable college car?

Thanks!

Last edited by Bstew7890; 12-31-2013 at 10:31 AM. Reason: wording
Old 01-01-2014, 05:59 AM
Super Moderator

I'm guessing the fat round cuffs are actually the inner CV joints? Yes they most likely factory.

Water pumps may last 150,000miles or they may fail at 50,00 miles.

Give it a good tune up, plugs & filters etc, new coolant & thermostat. Flush the brake fluid too.

Old 01-01-2014, 07:46 AM
Banned