Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

New Mazda Owner

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2007, 02:48 AM
Default New Mazda Owner

Well well..here i am, with my broken arm and all. i was in a car accident a few months ago. I had a Dodge Neon..yeah now that you are all done laughing...I bought a 2001 protege 2.0 es..Im looking to get my fingers dirty. I have already put on a cold air intake...what I want now is a short shift kit, a larger throttle body a header and exhaust....so its up to you guys to tell me what you know and the best place to get it. When I get my cast off i will help you out as much as I can... i am a lisenced mechanic..well was anyway...who can help??

Old 04-03-2007, 03:07 AM
Default RE: New Mazda Owner

first, welcome to the familia. second, i can point you to a couple of places that you can find parts. for a short shift, i recommend EBay of all places. they have vendors that get brand name stuff like that for cheap and sell it for cheap. it's all brand name, the difference is that they don't have any overhead and that kind of stuff is all so common that they know they will always keep it sold. hard to find parts are usually available at www.horsepowerfreaks.com they have all kinds of stuff that i couldn't find anywhere else. another place to look is www.corksport.com i think they are inthe process of building a protege that is the same year and engine size as yours, so they are well equipped. you will find that being in the mazda family, parts are a little harder to come by but it is all worth it because your car is different from all of the Hondas and Neons on the road. i also do all of my own work so iwe might be able to help each other out though my car is a 2002 protege 5, they aren't that different.

Old 04-03-2007, 03:26 PM

Thanks!