Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

Idle Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 09:21 PM
tye
Exclamation Idle Problem?

I'm new to the Mazda scene and don't really understand why my 97 Protege is doing this.. Say I was driving and was coming to a complete stop, and i throw my car in neutral why I idle to wait for the light change. When the Idle is at 700-750 I guess that is normal, but my car will sometimes go from 700- to like 400 and back up to 750 and maybe back down to 400.

There is no engine code being thrown and for some odd reason it leaks a bit of oil, but I always make sure she is topped off to the full line, so I don't think it would be that. Car seems to work perfectly fine other then that. Any idea what could cause this Mazda Enthusiates? haha

Thanks.

Old 10-21-2009, 09:51 PM

inspect intake air hose CAREFULLY for cracks . idling engine fine, but crack open when the engine torques .No CEL's ???? ......hmmmmm.

Old 10-22-2009, 09:05 PM
tye

Originally Posted by copierman
idling engine fine, but crack open when the engine torques .
...??

No, there is no CEL's at all. The intake is a little old, it's just a stock intake, the intake pipe itself might be a bit dirty and the filter not too worn. Any other hose's I should be looking at?

Old 10-23-2009, 02:29 AM