Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

99 Protege jerky, jumpy acceleration in low gears

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2009, 08:10 AM
Default 99 Protege jerky, jumpy acceleration in low gears

First off, greetings!!

I wish we were meeting under better circumstances, and I would like to thank anyone in advance for contributing to this thread.

This has been one great car! 130,000 miles, never any problems!

My Check engine light is on, and has been for some time. As the car has been running fine I didnt really let it worry me. I drive it about 30 miles a day. I am going to get the codes read this morning and will follow up here. Heres my problem:

99 Protege DX 5 spd

Recently, I noticed a little hesitation while accelerating through 1st and 2nd gear. Nothing major and it would accelerate smoothly once I got over 25 mph. In the course of a week it has gotten alot worse. I am an easy driver (not stomping on the gas or anything). In 1st and 2nd, now 3rd, acceleration is VERY jerky and jumpy. On the highway the car runs fine. The car idles good most of the time, but about once a week, while at a stop light, it will "flutter" and die out. The car restarts with no problem. There is no electrical load on when this happens. No air, no radio, etc.
I'm hoping somone here has had this problem before and can get me pointed in the right direction before I'm stuck on the side of the road.

TIA for your suggestions and taking time to post!

Old 10-16-2009, 01:45 PM
Default Codes

I had my codes read and although I didnt save a report of the actual code numbers they are:

1. Plug 2 misfiring
2. EGR vale
3. O2 sensor

Going to try to clean the EGR valve first, as he stated that this could be giving false reading to the other components.

I will let you know how it goes!!

Old 10-23-2009, 02:53 AM