Mazda Protege This compact model offers an economical solution for the need for a sporty sedan or wagon.

97 protege LX

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2011, 04:00 PM
Default 97 protege LX

Hey guys, newbie here with his first post. Joined the forum since I just bought a 97 protege LX few days ago for $1200. I actually got a lil confused since the guys advertised it as the ES model but on the car, i see SE on the sides. Then when I put the VIN for a car report, it gave me the dx/lx option to choose from. I think its a LX because I cant find any info about an SE trim in this year, maybe someone can clarify that for me? About the car, It's is in pretty good shape, was rustproofed on the underbody. Both wheel arches have rust forming but its not that bad. The car itself has 122K on the original engine and transmission. Has got A/C and the usual stuff. Car drove good, new brakes and new tires. I looked up the prices of how much the car should be going for and its around the $3k ball park. Initially I thought its salvage. When I went to see the car, It was confirmed that it was in an accident but by the looks and drivability of it, you could never tell. I could def see if it was in sort of a fender bender since the front bumper cover was not sitting perfectly aligned but that was the only visible imperfection. I looked at the struts and frame and it all looked good. Well I came home and did a car report and theres no mention of any accident lol. So i dunno, maybe the guys didnt know much about it. Well I wanna start meintenance on it, doubt its got a tune up yet so wanted to know, other than the belts and sparkplugs, what else should I change on it? I did have someone look at it before purchasing it. Basically the guy does safety and he did a quick checkup of if he was actually doing a safety, what parts would not pass. He brought to my attention, the outer tie rod on passenger side, link kit set, and driver side lower ball joint. Everything else should be good. So where