How To: Fixing a missing radio code. - Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums

Go Back  Mazda Forum - Mazda Enthusiast Forums > Mazda Vehicles > Mazda Millenia
Reload this Page >

How To: Fixing a missing radio code.

Mazda Millenia This sedan, the flagship luxury sedan, offers both a naturally aspirated and supercharged model, so you can have your luxury, and, if you have a need for speed, big horsepower.

How To: Fixing a missing radio code.

  #1  
Old 11-20-2008, 07:44 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location:
Posts: 19
Default How To: Fixing a missing radio code.

If you are like me, you possibly might have the nice Panasonicradio that requires a code to be inputed if it lost power. Now, if your really like me... you didn"t have the code needed. Here are the steps to reclaiming your tunes and your sanity.

If you know the Owner"s Code, a four-digit code, the instructions are fairly simple:

STEP 1: Turn the ignition to ACC

STEP 2: Briefly and simultaneously press both SEARCH and AUTO-M. This action should change the display from a blinking code to a solid .

STEP 3: Using the radio preset buttons 1, 2, 3, and 4, set the Owner"s Code in the display. The first position can be set using the 1 button, the second using the 2 button, etc.

STEP 4: Press and hold both SEARCH and AUTO-M until you hear a loud beep and the display shows good. The radio will then turn off, and you are ready to start listening again.

If you don"t know the Owner"s Code, the instructions are similar.

The first goal is to get the display to flash"ERR" instead of code. Then you can enter the Dealer Code to reset the radio. Here are the steps:

STEP 1: Turn the ignition to ACC

STEP 2: Briefly and simultaneously press both SEARCH and AUTO-M. This action should change the display from a blinking code to a solid.

STEP 3: Using the radio preset buttons 1, 2, 3, and 4, set any four-digit code in the display. The first position can be set using the 1 button, the second using the 2 button, etc.

STEP 4: Press and hold both SEARCH and AUTO-M. If by some chance you guessed the Owner"s Code, there will be a loud beep and the display will show good before the radio turns off. If this happens, you are done. More likely, the display will briefly show"ERR" and then change back to the flashing code.

STEP 5: Repeat steps 1-4 until you have a flashingERR instead of a flashing code.

STEP 6: Press the following buttons in sequence: SEARCH, AM, AUTO-M, FM 1/2. The display should now show .

STEP 7: Set the code to 4989 using the preset buttons, as before.

Press and hold both SEARCH and AUTO-M until you hear a loud beep and the displayflashes good. The radio will then turn off, and you are ready to start listening again.


This will speed you on your way to getting your radio back!

-Kass
 
  #2  
Old 11-21-2008, 11:53 AM
virgin1's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manor, TX (Outside of Austin)
Posts: 8,660
Default RE: How To: Fixing a missing radio code.

EXCELLENT write-up, Kass!! Excellent job.

FAQed and Stickied!!
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-2008, 11:10 AM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default RE: How To: Fixing a missing radio code.

Wow, this is very good info. I am a used car dealer and this happens alot on the lot. a battery runs down, or is replaced and bam!

Thanks a bunch!

Tracy
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-2009, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 983
Default

great for 95-96. 97- no code needed.
 
  #5  
Old 03-09-2010, 05:28 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hi all
I am having similar problems.
Bought new car this Saturday. Initially Code was flashing on panel initially. I have enter wrong code (By pressing AUTO M and 6 button ) after a couple of wrong attempt. Radio doesn't respond any of the command.

I tried pressing all the possible combination mentioned here and WHICH one is a SEARCH Button?
Radio is not responding at all. it only shows Err message on Display.

I ask Dealer on phone, they said they need to recode a code with a laptop and charging me 50 +VAT.
According to User manual i need to replace whole Radio.
my car model is Mazda 6 TS 2005. in this model i can't find a SEARCH button


please help
Soonu
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-2010, 04:47 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default

i m also suffering from the same problem whats the solution of this radioiseged thing which isee
 
  #7  
Old 06-11-2010, 01:22 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Default Stereo code

Unfortunately this doesn't seem to work for the RX-8, our stereo went off recently after the battery was replaced...I tried the last 4 digits of the chassis as I was informed by one dealership but that didn't work so I tried the suggestions on here but now it just flashes err...looks like will have to pay up at dealership..bit worried tho as the manual says if err flashes will have to replace whole system - anyone had this?
 
  #8  
Old 07-15-2010, 07:07 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 17
Default the code that worked for my 95 millenia bose/pioneer stereo

your stereo needs to be flashing the "err" for this to work.

1.) turn car on, then press in sequence: SEARCH(press the bottom of the big round button on the right where the v is), AM, AUTO-M, FM1/2

2.) the code lines shold be back enter: 4989

3.) press and hold at the same time: SEARCH (bottom v same as before) & AUTO-M

4.) should flash "good" and stereo will work again.

if this works for your car, write this down because you will need it anytime your car loses power.

i took my car to the dealer and they told me my stereo needed to be replaced and there was no code, half hour after i got home i found this code and BAM, it was the 4th different reset code i tried and it finally worked.

i have the stereo that says "bose" on the tape deck door, it has the 2 big ***** @ the bottom (volume & search) and the 6 disc player in the trunk.
 
  #9  
Old 01-17-2012, 04:29 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Blegium Vlaanderen
Posts: 1
Smile Mazda Premacy code autoradio

Thanks to the forum I was able to listen to the music on my radio!

The procedure was good but the code in my case was 1414 in stead off 4989

The garage did not now the possibility
 
  #10  
Old 07-29-2012, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 983
Default

we have 2 99's. i have switched head units back and forth many times. each car now has a head unit from an 00my millenium edition with 6 cd changer built in(the stock units are single cd, both bose). i also have a spare, and i also have had both units out to repair the cd changer. I HAVE NEVER, EVER, HAD TO CODE THE HEAD UNIT. i pull the old one, insert the new one, turn it on, and go. non millenia posts should be put in the proper forum, or deleted
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: How To: Fixing a missing radio code.


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.