Mazda Miata (MX-5) This compact RWD model, offered with many engines options for those are who want to cruise with the top down in a base model, or hit the track in one of the high performance models, has been a popular model since its introduction.

stalling without warning

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2013, 02:22 PM
Default stalling without warning

hi guys.
1990 Miata. runs fantastic then dies sometimes it will restart before I get to the curb; other times I have to wait a few mins.
so far I've only replaced the fuel filter, cleaned the ground connection near the brake cyl, and checked/cleaned the plug connections on the ecu and that cam sensor thing.
i'm thinking it's an electrical issue but i'm no expert.
I know that's not much to go on, and I haven't confirmed fuel pressure, but it doesn't sputter, it just dies as if you pulled the plug, then starts right back up.

Old 09-05-2013, 04:55 PM

I think it's electrical as well.

Check the ignition parts next. Also check the cable connections at the battery and the alternator.
A failing alternator can cause some strange things because of the severe voltage jumps.

Old 09-07-2013, 12:40 PM

where to start w/ ignition troubleshoot? when its running, it shows no symptoms.
I've googled and found ignition switch threads and cam sensor threads, ect. I don't wanna throw money at it (but I guess it would help narrow things down).
I will check connections on alt and battery terminals.

Old 09-07-2013, 01:32 PM

Is this OBD1, in other words is there a check or service engine light? Do the dash lights flicker go out or stay on? Dash lights meaing check oil, hot, brake on ect? Also does it have an electric fuel pump? You say restarts before it gets to the curb, does it restart immediatly?

Old 09-07-2013, 02:22 PM

hi thanks.
I just was watching it run in the garage.
the seatbelt light was lit as I wasn't in there while it idled.