Mazda CX-7 This sporty turbocharged 4 cylinder SUV combines the spirit of a performance car with the versatility of an SUV.

New Head Unit (Stereo) but keep time buttons

  #1  
Old 09-24-2018, 06:29 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default New Head Unit (Stereo) but keep time buttons

Hello,

First time poster here, I'm looking into possibly upgrading my stock stereo (without Bose on 2010 CX-7) with one that does CarPlay/Android Audio. And I see places like Crutchfield have faceplates that help that new deck fit in (https://www.crutchfield.com/p_120997...t.html?tp=3121). On the image of that part, I see you get a cutout for the hazard lights button, but on the left and right of the hazard button on the stock stereo, there are buttons for adjusting the time (https://www.lokeykia.com/assets/stoc...02a_640_20.jpg).

Has anyone ever put in a aftermarket headunit, and if so, what did you do about those buttons?
I was able to find an article where one person said they just didn't bother, it always showed the wrong time. But I feel like that would drive me crazy, and I've been so used to looking there for the time for so many years.

Thank you in advance!
Jason
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:18 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Miami
Posts: 2
Default

I replaced the head unit on my 2007 cx7 with the Atoto a6.

To be honest I did not think about it until I saw this post.

I just checked it my car and it seems to sync together with the new head unit.

See attachedATOTO a6 head unit pic.
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:23 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by nostalgic View Post
I replaced the head unit on my 2007 cx7 with the Atoto a6.

To be honest I did not think about it until I saw this post.

I just checked it my car and it seems to sync together with the new head unit.

See attachedATOTO a6 head unit pic.
Interesting, I'll take a look at that head unit then, see what I think about it. Might be a good solution for me.
Thank you so much.
 
  #4  
Old 02-13-2019, 04:24 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1
Default

If the clock would bother you that much, just go out at midnight and disconnect your battery for a second.
 
  #5  
Old 02-13-2019, 04:33 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default

LOL, interesting idea...
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
martucci369
Mazda3
0
01-05-2016 10:03 AM
naples6
Mazda6
3
04-06-2008 01:00 AM
jacka55
Mazda6
3
02-05-2008 06:40 PM
ehuffty
Mazda6
1
07-01-2007 03:56 PM
DSanborn3
General Tech
1
09-20-2006 10:34 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Head Unit (Stereo) but keep time buttons


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.