Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for input re Mazda CX 5 defrosting issue.

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2021, 10:55 AM
Default Looking for input re Mazda CX 5 defrosting issue.

Hello,
I'm a new member to this forum, I live in Quebec, and our winters can be quite brutal.
I am having an issue with defrosting of my front windshield.
When defrosting my front windshield, the center of the windshield does defrost well, but the sides takes much longer time to do so.
I am no engineer, but I noticed that the Air ducts which brings heat to the front windshield are concentrated on the center of the windshield,
thus causing a problem for the sides to defrost well. I believe the ducts to be too narrow for our type of climate.
Its a problem when driving, since your vision is impaired because the sides are frosted and you can basically see only whats in front of you, and your right and left vision is impaired because the windshield is still frosted. The sides do defrost eventually after driving for quite some time.
I would have a solution to this as well:
1- extend the air ducts to capture more of the front windhshield.
2- add air ducts to the pillars which face the windshield, thus throwing air on the sides of the windshield.
3- add electric defrost on the bottom of the front windshield where the wipers rest to eliminate ice being formed on the windshield wipers.
Please share if they have similar experience, comments, hints...
thanks.

Old 01-23-2021, 08:34 AM

2- add air ducts to the pillars which face the windshield, thus throwing air on the sides of the windshield.
3- add electric defrost on the bottom of the front windshield where the wipers rest to eliminate ice being formed on the windshield wipers.

Are you seriously considering those as solutions? Aside from #3 how would you do any of the other two?