Mazda CX-5 The CX-5 CUV debuts Mazda's SKYACTIV® TECHNOLOGY and is unique for its impressive fuel economy, responsive handling and bold style
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2018 CX5 and Maxlife ATF

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2023, 12:55 PM
Default 2018 CX5 and Maxlife ATF

Hi, I wanted to ask about a specific ATF fluid for my wife’s 2018 Mazda CX5 2.5L and also my own 2021 Mazda 3 2.5L.

I have owned many cars and the past 10 years the only ATF fluid I have ever used is Valvoline Maxlife ATF because it’s backwards compatible to most makes and models. Maxlife is synthetic and I have never had a problem. Here is the product:

https://www.napaonline.com/en/p/VAL773775

However, I am fairly new to the Mazda brand and I plan to do my own maintenance once both of these vehicles is out of warranty. Will Maxlife AFT be a good option, or do have to use the Mazda brand?
Thank you

Old 07-12-2023, 05:45 PM

Originally Posted by ansan12001
Hi, I wanted to ask about a specific ATF fluid for my wife’s 2018 Mazda CX5 2.5L and also my own 2021 Mazda 3 2.5L.

I have owned many cars and the past 10 years the only ATF fluid I have ever used is Valvoline Maxlife ATF because it’s backwards compatible to most makes and models. Maxlife is synthetic and I have never had a problem. Here is the product:

https://www.napaonline.com/en/p/VAL773775

However, I am fairly new to the Mazda brand and I plan to do my own maintenance once both of these vehicles is out of warranty. Will Maxlife AFT be a good option, or do have to use the Mazda brand?
Thank you
I've used maxlife ATF on other vehicles but would never use it on a japanese vehicle.
Mazda has specific fluids for it's vehicles.
Go by your manual which most likely is
Mazda FZ or another FZ ATF like Ravenol FZ.

Last edited by kilroy22; 07-12-2023 at 05:50 PM.
Old 07-12-2023, 06:50 PM

There are make specific transmission fluids available on Amazon. IIRC, Toyota fluid is compatible with