Mazda BT 50 & Pickup Trucks While Mazda may not be known for their trucks, they have always produced quality reliable trucks for both hauling cargo, or simply crusing. BT 50

88 b2200 fuel pump works, no gas in carb bowl

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2021, 04:45 PM
Default 88 b2200 fuel pump works, no gas in carb bowl

Hey everyone, I’m new to the b2200 and the forum. I’ve got an 88 B2200 and the mechanical fuel pump works well, but it doesn’t seem there is any fuel getting into the carburetor. I’m not sure how to proceed in figuring out the issue. Could I get some pointers? Forgive me if there are similar threads, I tried searching for them and didn’t find any that seemed helpful.
Bonus info: got the truck free at 150,000 miles last weekend.

Old 01-31-2021, 05:01 AM
Super Moderator

How have you determined that the fuel pump works?

Old 01-31-2021, 08:41 AM

Originally Posted by grim_reaper
Did you pull off the hose at the carburetor, place hose into a jar, and have helper crank the engine? Remember to do this safely, gasoline is dangerous.

How have you determined that NO fuel is getting "into" the carburetor?

Stock carburetor or aftermarket Weber?

Old 01-31-2021, 09:05 AM

Originally Posted by grim_reaper
stock carb.
I disconnected the hose from the carburetor side and when I crank the truck, the pump sprays fuel out of that hose strongly. Yes, I had it flowing into a bottle for safety. When I pour fuel into the carburetor, the truck runs until it runs out of fuel. With the hose connected the engine doesn’t sound like it try’s to ignite anything, leading me to believe the fuel isn’t getting into the carburetor.

Last edited by Trey Roach; 01-31-2021 at 09:10 AM.
Old 01-31-2021, 04:04 PM

Congrats on a free truck! Post a picture of it if you can.